Authors and Self Promotion

via Please shut up: Why self-promotion as an author doesn’t work. — whimsydark.

I’m a newbie in this writing game. I haven’t sold anything. And in fact, I’m sure I haven’t written anything yet that’s worthy of sale. I’m still learning my craft. I’m still honing my skills.  But along with writing, and when you put out that that publication is your goal, you’re bombarded with a great deal of information about ‘building a writer’s platform.’

But, I don’t know if I want a platform.  I want to write. I want to create stories and characters that my readers think of as friends.  How can I do that if I’m so focused on having a ‘presence’ that it takes over?  And do I really want to blog every day about my writing process.

When I was a new mom, I tried my hand at the at-home sales stuff.  I was a Pampered Chef consultant and then an Avon lady and finally a Mary Kay representative. The problem was that I felt as if I was constantly harassing my family and friends to host parties so that I could make money. I hated it.  But, of course I had to play the part of the sales lady.  I am no sales lady.

Even now, I have friends who are in those direct sale marketing ploys.  I hide from them.  They text me about their “awesome hostess products” and I delete the texts.  I don’t want to be viewed as just another walking dollar sign. If I want their product, I know where to find it.  I know what they do for a living.

So, how does this relate to writing and self-promotion?  Well, I believe it has everything to do with it.  I will still promote myself as a writer, but on a much smaller scale.  I will still share my stories because that’s what I want to do with my life. And most importantly I will write. Every day. Sometimes several times a day.

What I don’t want is to be the desperate author chasing people down the street begging them to buy my book! If it’s a good story, they’ll find it.  If they’re interested, they’ll read it.  And in the meantime, I’ll keep posting my short stories and insights on here because I enjoy sharing them.

And, that’s the point that I believe the author of the article is trying to make.  Share your work.  Put it out there for the world to see, but don’t brow beat.  I hope to never be the author who brow beats her friends into reading my work.

Instead, I think I will stick with the tried and true method of GREAT BOOK + HARD WORK + TIME + LUCK = SUCCESS.  I can control three of those, but I can’t do them if I’m so concerned about my image as an author.  I’m me.  I love to write stories. I love to share my stories.  And I hope that luck is on my side.

One thought on “Authors and Self Promotion

  1. I’ve got my own blog post coming as a response to the one you linked. I agree with 99% of what the author writes, because frankly I get REALLY REALLY annoyed with the whole self-promotion bit.

    That being said, I AM glad I (at least tried) to take some of the advice about building a platform. Not because I’m convinced it will sell more books, but because it’s kept me connected with so many awesome people who love writing as much as I do. It’s fun, and it’s about relationship. Truth is, there are a LOT of us out there. Self-promotion may not work, but helping OTHERS promote their work might. I would love to get to a point where I can help promote other people’s stuff and have them do the same in return.

    Anyway, just rambling. I’ll let you know when my own response to the link finally gets done. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

